I am a full time entrepreneur!


plant in hands

This marks a day which will change my life in one way or another. I will be better off for doing it, but I will either leave this process with a significant dent in my net worth, or a gain to some degree. Either way I won’t regret this decision because the potential gains in other areas are so great.

Today I have chosen to leave a full time and well paid job working for a well respected company who I have aspired to work for, for some time. I leave behind the security of knowing where the next pound I earn will come from at the end of each month, to a world of uncertainty and risk. To some people this is their worst nightmare. To be honest if I thought about that too much I wouldn’t have done it. I am choosing to take on a career path where 4 out of 5 will fail. A path where I personally have experienced previous failure. Never the less, I am a product of the life I have lived and the things which I have experienced. The 30 years I have been in this world have been a roller coaster ride of ups and downs with my fair share of highs and lows. With full knowledge of all the negative outcomes which are possible, I still think the gains are worth the risk.

I used to think that money was the answer to everything. More money equals a better life, which was where I thought I wanted to be. The pursuit of wealth alone has led me down paths to places which I have no desire to go back to. Chasing money gets you to a place where you just raise the bar in terms of your expectations of material possessions, and the value you place on those possessions. You then find yourself in a position where you need to earn more money to pay for things which will eventually become the things which “used” to make you happy. This is no good thing. I believe if this is how you define success you will never reach your true potential.

I define success as having the freedom to do what I want, getting fulfilment from what I choose to do and that whatever it is I choose makes me happy.

The things that drive me in pursuit of my entrepreneurial life are to gain freedom, fulfilment and happiness but also to have a higher purpose. As Steve Jobs once said “I want to make a dent in the universe.” In a 100 years time when I am no longer walking the face of this planet I want to leave a legacy of something more than my digital data trail of tweets and Facebook statuses. If I can find a way to improve the world in some small little way I will consider my career a success.

As I am writing this I can’t believe how much of a hippy I am sounding, but it’s the truth.

My mission is to help make the world more transparent for the benefit of all.

If you would like to find out more about my project please visit my prelaunch website ItIsWhatIt.Is or connect on Facebook – www.facebook.com/itiswhatitdotis or Twitter – www.twitter.com/itiswhatitdotis

The first version of the website will launch in a couple of weeks. If you would like to receive an email when the site launches please enter your email here.

Leave a Reply

